# Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science (BASC) - BA BSc

QTAC code (Australian and New Zealand applicants): External: 909685; Toowoomba campus: 909681

CRICOS code (International applicants): 078597K

	External#^
Semester 1 (February)	Semester 1 (February)
Semester 2 (July)	Semester 2 (July)
	Semester 3 (November)
Toowoomba	-
Commonwealth supported place	Commonwealth supported place
	Semester 2 (July) Toowoomba

If you do not meet the English language requirements you may apply to study a University-approved English language program. On successful completion of the English language program, you may be admitted to an award program.

## **Program fees**

## Commonwealth supported place

A Commonwealth supported place is where the Australian Government makes a contribution towards the cost

### **Major studies**

#### **Arts Studies**

The Arts component shall comprise:

- an eight-unit discipline based major from the majors available under the Bachelor of Arts
- a four-unit discipline based minor from the Bachelor of Arts
- one 12-unit extended major from the majors available under the Bachelor of Arts.

(At least two units from each major must be at third year level)

#### **Science Studies**

The Science component shall comprise:

#### Either:

- an eight-unit discipline based major chosen from the majors under the Bachelor of Science (i.e. Biology, Computing, Environment and Sustainability, Human Physiology, Mathematics, Physical Sciences, Wine Science). (Note: the Mathematics major requires students to have achieved a level of Sound Achievement over four semesters in Queensland Senior (Year 12) Mathematics B or equivalent).
- a four-unit study selected from one Science discipline. This four-unit study may or may not be in the same discipline as the eight-unit Science major
- One Science elective approved by the Faculty of Health, Engineering and Sciences.
   Or

•

- Students will normally start the Arts major in Semester 1 of first year and continue it in Semester 2 of first year. The Arts minor is usually started in Semester 1 of second year.
- The Science major is usually started in Semester 1 of first year and continued in Semester 2 of first year. The Science minor study is usually started in second year subject to timetabling constraints.
- Elective courses are usually taken in third or fourth years unless required as pre-requisites.